Google Sites: How to Add an Announcements Section

November 3, 2011

Digital Portfolios, How To

Google Sites - Announcements SectionMany times people don’t want to search endlessly on your site looking for new stuff….make it easy on your audience and include an announcements section where you can quickly and easily update what’s new on your site, what’s new with you, or anything else you may want to share that relevant to your digital portfolio.  I’ve seen students post announcements concerning athletic or performance events they are involved in, notifications of new projects they’ve added to the digital portfolio, or even general progress comments regarding something they are eagerly working on.  For example, one guy added something along the lines of  “I finally turned in the first draft of the fictional short story I’ve been working on.  I can’t wait to get it back Friday.”

 

, , , ,

Connect with MCT

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Google Sites: How to Add an Announcements Section”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    This isn’t working for me, i do everything right then it wont show up on the side bar.

    Reply

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Thanks Ms. Computer Teacher, whoever or wherever you are!

    Reply

  3. Rajatraj Says:

    Thank you very much for your comemnt, Terry! I like being able to type on a physical keyboard, too, and I see myself more likely to go with a netbook than an iPad because of the software issues and what I would plan to do with it (e.g., word processing, gaming, web surfing). In fact, I would be less likely to replace a laptop or netbook with an iPad, and more likely to replace my iPod Touch with an iPad; however, then I would be sacrificing portability. As I hinted at in the article, I see the iPad less as competition for netbooks and more as a new gadget to add to my stable of devices. Thanks again!

    Reply

Leave a comment