How to Use Symbaloo – an Awesome Bookmarking Service

If you’re anything like me, you visit 100 websites a day.  Ok, so maybe 100 websites is a slight exaggeration, but it feels as if I visit 100 websites a day sometimes.  I’ve tried several online bookmarking tools to help me keep track of all those URLs, but the one I’ve found to be the most useful (particularly with education) is Symbaloo.

Symbaloo stores my bookmarks “in the cloud” so that I can access my favorite sites from any device in any place with an internet connection. (Check out the app for iPhones/iPads and Android devices.)  Also, instead of links or folders, Symbaloo uses colorful tiles that I can easily arrange and organize to create a visually appealing “webmix” (or layout).  In addition to bookmarking links, I can also bookmark RSS feeds and quickly and easily read these feeds. Another awesome feature is that I can share my bookmarks with others.  In education, this means that I can create a “webmix” of my class resources and share it with students.  When I add tiles to my webmix, my students will automatically receive the updates in their own webmix.  How cool, right?  No more time is spent wasted in class while students search for or type in URLs!

This first video is a quick introduction to Symbaloo from their YouTube channel.  The second video is one I created to show more details about how to use Symbaloo with special attention paid to uses in education.  It is also available on YouTube.  Check them out and let me know what you think.

Also available on  YouTube.

, , , , , , , ,

Connect with MCT

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “How to Use Symbaloo – an Awesome Bookmarking Service”

  1. dinnerware set 12 brown Says:

    Appreciate this post. Let me tryy it out.

    Reply

  2. Juan Miguel Says:

    This article was really helpful.

    Reply

  3. Nicholas Bent Says:

    Thanks for sharing this information. Really very interesting blog.

    Reply

  4. Bill Gates Says:

    Ms. Computer Teacher,

    I have admired your website for ome time now and thought that I would let you know that I love the way you teach students by using a website that I assume you made. I do admire the new layout of colors that you have changed on the site. I will continue to visit this page in the future. Keep up the wonderful work.

    Sincerely,
    Bill Gates

    Reply

  5. Duncan J. Says:

    Amazing

    Reply

  6. Joshua.B Says:

    cool

    Reply

Leave a Reply

