Technology for Change: Kony 2012

March 16, 2012

Motivational, Tech News

 

Not a whole lot to say here, except for WOW.

Questions:  In this example, how is technology used for positive change?  What can you do to help?  Other thoughts on the video and the situation in general?

 

, , , , , ,

Connect with MCT

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

93 Comments on “Technology for Change: Kony 2012”

  1. JP Says:

    Hope the same thing happens to Kony as it did to bedlain

    Reply

  2. Haydn L Says:

    That guy is crazy. I think the government isn’t doing enough and i think they should. This is really sad. But its really cool how this guy is telling everyone in America what’s going on. We need to stop him!

    Reply

  3. Jenna L. Says:

    this video was enlightening, it showed me about the problems in the world that i didn’t know about before. of coarse i knew Africa was in turmoil but i had no idea how much pain it causes people of the world. i cant help but put myself in the shoes of the children around my age in Africa. just imagining what they must have to go thorough hurts my heart and makes me feel helpless. but at the same time as breaking my spirit this video gives me hope that there is something we can do to change the fate of the world.

    Reply

  4. Julia C. Says:

    I think that this is really sad. But it’s great that he is trying to help. He will really make a difference I think. I feel really super bad for all of those African kids out there who are having this happen to them. Especially since they have to kill their own parents. Could you imagine having to do that. It would be really awful.

    Reply

  5. Taylor. B Says:

    Sometimes I wonder how people like Kony can do so much evil, and not even care. And I find it disappointing that the U.S won’t do nothing about it. If we can watch this happen and do nothing about it, even though we can, then I think we’re just as evil as Kony. We need to do something about it and the more the U.S delays this, the worse it’ll get

    Reply

  6. David R. Says:

    I think that this video is sad, but well constructed. Kony should really be stopped.

    Reply

  7. Cassie M Says:

    I thought this video was really inspiring, but really sad. i think its god that people are finally stopping Kony after such a long time of him doing all these bad things to the little kids in Africa. I think that if people who want to stop him really badly try hard enough, they will be able to find him quicker and stop him from doing what he has been doing to the kids. why are people so harsh to do this kind of thing to others?

    Reply

  8. Kevin K. Says:

    this was a very inspiring video and i think that people should think about this a little more.

    Reply

  9. Johnny Foraker Says:

    I think that this a awful situation and that it is a bit late but the violence is still there and that people should realize that!

    Reply

  10. Wiah Woyee Says:

    I can’t believe cony would do such a thing,we must STOP CONY.
    That was an interesting video. we will free the Africans.
    Just you wait CONY!

    Reply

  11. Matthew J. Says:

    I find it so sad and awful that these kids have to live like this. I could never face what they have to face every day. Whoever has top kill a person to take control is just mad. We need to stop this torture!

    Reply

  12. Johnny Foraker Says:

    This is a terrible and cruel video, I feel like this is an awful situation and that Kony should be stoped!

    Reply

  13. Sam J. Says:

    Before this video, I had heard of Kony, but I didn’t know he was bad. Turns out, I was wrong.

    Reply

  14. Senith B. Says:

    First off this was a well made video. Jason Russel made an interesting,to the point movie. I feel that we really need to stop Joseph Kony needs to be stooped. Even those he hasn’t done much abduction/killing he should be arrested anyway.

    Reply

  15. Sabrina K. Says:

    That is really sad that what is happening to the families. I would help make Joseph Kony famous.

    Reply

  16. Kaitlyn A. Says:

    Oh, wow…This is horrifying. How could something like this keep going on? This is just bad, and it makes me sad for these kids, who may never come home, and never truly be themselves ever again. They’re forced to kill their own parents, and that’s just wrong. This makes you want to make a change…. And I say we do! Kony needs to be stopped. We can all make a change, and we should.

    Reply

  17. Patrick U. Says:

    This is just wrong. I haven’t watched the whole video, but can someone tell me why Joseph Kony is all for taking kids and turning them into soldiers? I can’t believe that the kids that are captured are given a gun and have to kill their parents. I am all for making Kony famous and getting him killed.

    Reply

  18. Abi C. Says:

    This man needs to be found and killed. I can’t believe this has been going on for 20 years. Jacob is strong and I am proud that he has escaped this but there has been so many more kidnaps, rapes, and disfigurations. What this man does to children is cruel and he needs to be found. I was practically crying while I was watching this. I’m thinking “What if this happened to me or one of my siblings.” Those children have to live in fear everyday because of that man. I’m truly disappointed.

    Reply

  19. Macey Says:

    WOW this video is amazing the man who started this is a brilliant man and he really is trying to help these people. But the negative and positive responses to this video are true, this is and could be a good cause and idea but he did not educate us enough to let us know what exactly kony is doing so we can help the cause and try to stop him. But this really is amazing and Kony is a psychotic mentally deranged man who has committed millions of crimes against humanity and he needs to be stopped. But i don’t know if this is the best way to support and make this issue present to the public.

    Reply

  20. Adam S Says:

    kony needs to be stopped. Kidnapping is cruel. We need to stop him

    Reply

  21. Chris C. Says:

    This video is very sad. I was surprised that Kony has been doing this for over 20 years and we haven’t known about until now. I hope that Kony will be arrested soon so that this carnage will end. It’s crazy how no one knew about this until Jason Russell posted this video. I hope that his plan works and that no one else will get killed.

    Reply

  22. michael j. Says:

    In the video they use TV, the internet and other resources to make sure that Kony’s name is known. They also use computers to find where Kony is so they can get him. I can send some food or clothing for the children to where. I can also tell my family about how bad he is and maybe they will tell other people. I think we should send more experienced people to help find him sooner.

    Reply

  23. Jakob C. Says:

    I thought that the video was very sad and meaningful. i think that some people don’t really care about the situation because they don’t get it. I also think they don’t care because it is happening so far away. But if they were to think that it was happening her in the U.S. they would most deferentially change their perspective of the problem. I think this is a serious problem because kids are being kidnapped and forced to go back to their village with guns to kill their family and parents. I think i could go and tell everyone in my family and friends and could makes signs and posters. It would let everyone realize what is going on.

    Reply

  24. Alex G Says:

    This video was very sad. It is terrible what “Kony” has done to all those kids in Africa. He is making our world more hurtful for human beings. Its great that Jason Russel has made such an big impact on stopping him. Getting all the community’s to try to help stop Kony. I mean as you can see how know one really knew who Joseph Kony was at the time. Russell tried telling the government and other people, but know one did anything. Once Russell started to get the word out using technology to show people what Kony has done, people started to listen. We all know Kony is a terrible person and we should all come together to stop him.

    Reply

  25. Jordan H. Says:

    In this video technology is used to help spread the word and show many pictures and video clips of the suffering and trouble in Africa. Kony should be stopped and the children of Africa should be freed and not have to live in fear. I cannot think of anything I could do to help, I am not in the military and would not be good in a war to help. All I could do would be to help spread the word to as many people as I can. Without this video I may have never known about Kony and all the things he was doing in Africa. I’m glad I saw this because without it I would have gone on with my life not knowing about all the bad things happening in Africa and never even thinking about them. I hope Kony is stopped as soon as possible so no child ever has to suffer from him again. Children should not have to live in fear of Kony, or of anyone for that matter. Everyone should be able to go places freely, not in fear of being abducted, or their children being abducted. I think everyone deep down has this fear and knows that it could happen to themselves or someone they love, but no one has this fear as much as the people in Africa, children have to be scared of him, who isn’t. Every child’s parents also are in this fear of their own children being abducted, raped, of killed. I am very fortunate that I live in America and that I do not have to worry about this all my life and in my sleep. I hope that Kony is stopped, save the children, save the people, save Africa, help the world.

    Reply

  26. Mackenzie A. Says:

    First of all, I feel that all of these abductions are wrong and they shouldn’t have to be scared for their life’s each and everyday. Like the man in the video said,if that ever happened in the united states, it would be all over the news and everyone would try to stop this. The government, is ignoring innocent people like us because the out come of their lives doesn’t affect ours. Since i am one in millions who believes that it is wrong and we need to do something about it, i can send a letter to the more famous democrats and republicans as a complaint. If everyone does this, then their is no way the government can ignor the voices that they are representing. The internet, is being put to good use because all of these people have come together to spread the word about Kony and get him put where he belongs, jail. The people who made this video, have put this short movie they made to tell people about his horrific doings, on facebook for everyone to see. It is a very good use of the internet and i really hope that it works. So far, its doing well, but we still have a long way to go.

    Reply

    • Amy Says:

      Treat others how you want to be traeted. It’s one of the best ways of showing respect. If you don’t treat others how you want to be traeted, then they will treat you the way you don’t want to be traeted or just walk away.

      Reply

  27. Adam G. Says:

    I think that the Kony video is a great thing, it is really helping make the issue known and help the kids and people in Uganda. I don’t agree with the idea of “making Kony Famous” because there are people that escaped from Kony and they are glad to see that more people are learning and helping, but they think the kids and victims of Kony should be in the media. I still think that this is a good video.

    Reply

  28. dominick R Says:

    this video was very intresting an sad how Kony takes kids into his army and forces boys to kill people. and make the girls become sex slaves.i like how everyone is tryin to make him become famous so more people will start to care about it more an make a diffrence. i was shocked at how many kids hes got in his army and how tht kid new an comprhended what his dad was sayin.

    Reply

  29. Cole L. Says:

    This video about Kony has made me look and see that our country is not the only one that has problems. I learned that Uganda is having a huge problem that involves one man kidnapping kids then having them kill their parents and becoming child soldiers also the girls being sex slaves. This video has made me what to find and stop this man dead in his tracks. We should all listen to this video try to help as much as we can but also tell as many people as we can. So lets find and stop this guy Kony!

    Reply

  30. Ian O. Says:

    I think that it was very cool how we are helping them. I think that Kony is really mean and stupid. i thought that the video was super inspirational. I think that we can stop him if we try.

    Reply

    • Mackenzie A. Says:

      Really? just mean and stupid? He is taking children from their homes and making them kill their loved ones. He is making innocent people suffer for his joy. He is mental. He should be in jail not one of the men who created the short movie. And if everyone pitches in, then we will stop him.

      Reply

      • Mandy Y. Says:

        I totally agree! This makes me so mad, but at least this video makes Kony famous, so people know about him so that we can throw him in jail.

  31. Anonymous Says:

    i think that technology has change this deal with Kony because its lets the world know about Knoy . i never have Kony until i watch the video. i see people putting this video on facebook so i think i can put this on facebook or should tell people in are neighbor hood.

    Reply

  32. Jakob C. Says:

    I thought that the video was very sad and meaningful. i think that some people don’t really care about the situation because they don’t get it. I also think they don’t care because it is happening so far away. But if they were to think that it was happening her in the U.S. they would most deferentially change their perspective of the problem. I think this is a serious problem because kids are being kidnapped and forced to go back to their village with guns to kill their family and parents.

    Reply

  33. Luke B Says:

    Right after I saw this video and made me feel grateful that we live in a place that we don’t have to worry about being kidnapped or killed. What Kony is doing is extremely wrong and I defiantly think our nation should do as much as we can to save African children. I am only 12 so I’m limited to what I can and cannot do. I could try to raise money to help rebuild the homes and schools that have been destroyed.; That would be a good start and something our school could do. Technology has gave us more knowledge and it can help us track people. If we track Kony we could possibly find him and arrest him.

    Reply

  34. Shiane T. Says:

    This video will help the world know who Kony really is. I didn’t know about him until just last week. Technology can help us know what he does and who he really is. The only thing that we can really do is help make this video viral, by posting it on Facebook and other places. This video was really sad, because this has been going on for a really long time, and no newspapers or news stations have really talked about it. If something like that happened in America… it would be all over the place. I think its cool that they are trying to get him arrested this year.

    Reply

  35. Matt S. Says:

    Kony 2012 was a very “inspirational” I would say. And how complex the internet is these days, he wouldn’t have gotten the word out any better without the internet and Facebook. We could do many things to help. We could donate money to the cause, join the group it-self, or just post something on Facebook about it. This is a very dangerous man and if we were not to find him, he would continue to kidnap children. We are not posting Kony 2012 things to celebrate him doing that, but to raise awareness about the massacres he has been causing for quite a long time.

    Reply

    • Emma O. Says:

      I agree with you Matt, I think that this video is very inspirational and its good that we have technology like Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and other social networks to help spread the work about bad things happening. This way, we can let people know faster about the bad things that are happening.

      Reply

  36. Emma O. Says:

    I think that this is sooooo bad. Kony needs to be stopped. I feel bad for all of the children that have been abducted, killed and forced to kill their parents. These people have used technology to tell ans how the world what is happening out there. Some people might not think that it’s a scam, but things like that actually happen there. I think that it is amazing that these people were able to make this video popular in such little time and to get all of these supporters behind them.

    Reply

  37. coley r Says:

    I believe that the actions this movie maker is taking against kony has changed my view on across seas combat. it was very inspirational the way this man took on Kony. he didnt use agressive force but strength in numbers. he used public production to make Kony known. i think we will arrest Kony before the end of 2012.

    Reply

  38. Adam G. Says:

    I think that the Kony video is a great thing, they have made it easy for us to help by giving us two things we can do. i don’t agree with the part about making Kony famous because there are people from Uganda saying that they are glad to see that we are trying to help, but they feel that the kids and people that Kony is killing and hurting should be in the media.

    Reply

  39. Kyndal P. Says:

    I think this man is doing a great thing. He is putting a lot of effort into saving these children. I didn’t think he was going to explain most of this to his young son. Kony needs to be stopped. He has been doing this for to long and it is wrong. These children should not have to do what he is telling them to do. He is using woman, and that needs to stop.

    Reply

  40. Logan S. Says:

    This video has inspired me to act now. It’s a terrible thing that he is doing. I’m glad so many people care about fixing/stopping what he is doing. People have such a powerful vote in anything if they come together. Facebook is a great way to get peoples attention.

    Reply

  41. hunter c. Says:

    I had a lot of thoughts about this video. Some of the thoughts that i had about this video is that i think that it is wrong for somebody to abduct them in the middle of the night and make them his soldiers. I also think that the kids would fight back or should fight back but they are scared that they will be killed by Kony and they will be his soldiers and abduct more and more kids as they try to make an army bigger. I don’t know why nobody has done anything about this because you have pointless videos on u tube and stuff like that and they cant even put a simple thing about humans on there. This is my reflection on this video.

    Reply

  42. David C. Says:

    I believe that Kony needs to be put to death for what he has done. It is terrible that he mad small children murder others. It is especially terrible that he mad them kill there own parents.I’m just glad that they are know home with their parents. Hopefully its done for good now.

    Reply

  43. Chase.R Says:

    I think this video is very emotional and heart breaking to watch. To think someobdy is stealing the lives of children and forcing them to kill and mutilate them. Kony needs to be brought to justice and fast. I honestly am thiking of donating money to that organizatino becasue it touched me that much. I will help fight against him to put a end to his chaos

    Reply

  44. Ben B Says:

    Technology is used for a positive change by helping spread the word about Joseph Kony. He made a Facebook page, he made a Youtube video, and he made a Google plus page I think. I can help by buying a bracelet and action kit. Also by spreading the word about Kony and giving money to TRI. I think this situation is very tragic and I don’t know how Kony has been doing this for 20 years before anybody knew or cared. I think we should just send in a whole lot of troops at once then find him faster then leave the people to their peace.

    Reply

  45. $Chance G$ Says:

    This video has shown me that it can do anything but help if you speak out about something that is this big. For people to help do this in Uganda is a very big deal not only for us but also for the people in Uganda and Kony’s child soldiers. The US is beginning to realize that when we help someone out and stop thinking about us then great things can happen in the future. Thanks to Gavin’s dad we have been able to capture Kony and save many of the kids and adults after children were being abducted from their homes and forced to kill their parents and other kids sometimes. If I was able I would help out this organization as much as I can. I support this opportunity to help someone else that is in trouble and let the world know that worse things happen with other people and in other countries besides our own so we need to keep our eyes open to our surroundings and always be looking to help anyone besides ourselves at different points in time.

    Reply

  46. Stephen W. Says:

    I think that its really sad that children in Africa get abducted every day. I also think that the idea to come together is a good idea to stop Kony. He is like Osama Bin Laden, they are both causing trouble in their own country. I think that he should be stopped, and by “he” I mean Kony. We ned to stop him.

    Reply

  47. luke b Says:

    this is a cool story because they met this guy in africa. they have stayed in touch over about ten years.they are face book freinds. they met this guy and he could of died so its pretty intense. i also think it i9s good because they are trying to make Kony famouse.

    Reply

  48. Melissa(: Says:

    First of all, I think this is amazing and will make history. Technology is being used in a magnificent way, to stop one of the biggest crimes in history! You can help by sharing this video on facebook or twitter, also but putting other things like pictures and posts on your wall, to get people to see what’s going on. I think this video really shows an example of how we can use technology to help people and save the earth.

    Reply

  49. Alexis O. Says:

    I’ve watched this video before and it is very moving… and sad… and happy. I think that what Jason and people like him are doing is AMAZING!!! i think that it will really make a difference. In this case technology is being used to bring people together to support a cause. It is amazing how many people care and are willing to do things for people like the ones in Africa. I don’t have a plan on how to help but maybe i will. I was really just a crazy-inspirational video that can change a lot of peoples lives for the better. I think that it is really good that he does that for people in need.

    Reply

    • Emma O. Says:

      I agree with you, Alexis. This is a very hard and moving video to watch. I also think that what these people are doing is very good. Technology is a good way to spread the word and support causes for people in need.

      Reply

  50. Cody Says:

    I think that it is horrible what Kony is doing. He is taking advantage of the children in Uganda and one of them is Jacob. Kony is at the top of the list for the world’s worst criminals. Thanks to Jason Russell who is trying to stop Kony and tell the government about it but not enough people know about it. I think that its great that they are telling people and showing them whats going on around the world. And they are trying to rescue the invisible children. They are using technology to come together and show the world videos of it and what they can do to help. I can join the Facebook group to help them with the invisible children.

    Reply

  51. Anonymous Says:

    This video was very interesting. Jason Russell is a very good man because he is trying to help. Just because of one guy that he met, this influenced him. This shows how much he cares about the issue. Child soldiers are not okay in my opinion. The fact that little children are running around with guns in their hands killing people and getting killed is horifying.

    Reply

  52. Rebecca L Says:

    This video was very long, but very inspirational. Ive watched it on my own at my house so I only re-watched parts i didn’t remember. My feelings on the video are that this Joseph Kony man is really bad and that we need to do something about it. its pretty sad that this has been ignored for so many years now. it seems like before this the only thing we really cared about was getting rid of osama bin laden but he wasn’t the only bad person out there, this man has held several small children to fight in a war that could take there life at a young age. not only is this wrong what hes doing but the fact that WE as Americans ignored this for so many years is HORRIBLE! its sad to think that the only thing we cared about for 10 years is killing osama bin laden when we could have used our other solders to go and kill Kony! there are so many ways this man could have been stopped way before now. its kind of sad to think that alot of people just became aware of this because its been around so long, and ill admit, i was one of those people who saw something on Facebook not knowing what it was and researched it like most people, ill admit that but im not proud of it. i think more people should have known about it way before now and it should have been stopped so long ago!

    Reply

  53. Lotus S.P. Says:

    I’ve already seen this video twice now. I’m not going to watch it again because the first time I did, I cried. A lot. Technology can change everything, most of the change is negative, but there is some positive. Even though Joseph Kony has been doing this for over twenty years, nobody knew about it until now. I think that’s because there was no real way to document these events, and actually have someone care. By video, everyone can see how devastating this is. From a text document, you cannot actually see anything, just imagine it. I just wish there was a way for everyone to know about Kony and the L.R.A. earlier, instead of waiting for thousands of children to die.

    Reply

  54. Carli R Says:

    This video was very influential. It’s inspiring that someone would put so much work into making Joseph Kony famous after he has been doing this for so long. This shows how technology is used positively and how it’s gotten Joseph Kony famous finally. I could help something like this by helping to make Joseph Kony famous and telling people about him and promoting the cause. It’s really sad that this has been going on for so long and still hasn’t been addressed. This needs to be stopped in a peaceful way that doesn’t cause even more conflict and we all need to work together as a world to end this. The USA couldn’t do something like this alone.

    Reply

  55. Christian Q. Says:

    I watched this video about a week ago. When I was at home watching this I found that I had no knowledge of any of this. I did’t know who “Kony” was, or the fact that he was killing and kidnapping children. I feel like this has a strong meaning to what our world is like. We have insistent children scared every night because they could be taking and forced to do things they don’t want to do. I think making a change is a good thing. We need to find “Kony.” I think if every one chips in we could make a difference to all the children that are scared every night and day.

    Reply

  56. Ruthie R Says:

    This video was very interesting. I think it is great that Jason Russell is trying to make such a huge impact just because of one guy that he met. I couldn’t believe that there could actually be someone that cruel in the world. I was also surprised at how most people didn’t even know about it until now, and it has been going on for years. The video has been very controversial, because some people believe that part of the money doesn’t even go towards the organization. Others believe that Joseph Kony isn’t even in Uganda anymore, and it isn’t as big of a problem today as they are making it seem. Since there are so many different opinions on Kony, I’m not quite sure what to believe. I know that Kony did do these things, but I’m not sure if it is still as bad as Russell makes it to be. Also, Gavin is very cute and I like how his small opinion is added. 🙂

    Reply

  57. Stephen W. Says:

    I think that its really sad that children in Africa get abducted every day. I also think that the idea to come together is a good idea to stop Kony. He is like Osama Bin Laden, they are both causing trouble in their own country. I think that he should be stopped, and by “he” I mean Kony.

    Reply

  58. Cristina T. (: Says:

    Wow, this guy must have like some crazy brain disorder to think all he has done is okay.Forcing kids to not only fight in war but then also kill their parents?…That’s a tad bit insane. His actions alone should make him want to commit suicide rather be on the America wanted list.
    When people watch this video I really hope they stop and put themselves in the kids shoes, and think about how they live day by day in fear of dying. Toward the beginning of the video Jacob told the camera that he watched his brother die. More than likely Jacob isn’t the only kid. With all of the communication America has it amazes me that this has been going on for multipul years and just now being noticed and talked about regularly.
    Also,the guy making the video said that if this whole situation was to happen in America to even a couple kids, it’d be all over the news, and all over the internet. This man would have been stopped and in jail in a fraction of the time it’s taking if it had took place in America. If America is supposed to stand up for other countries and help fight, then why did the KONY 2012 people get turned down by so many people in office?

    Thanks for reading(:
    -CristinaMariee.

    Reply

  59. Eric .K Says:

    I think it is really sad, I think we should do something about it and make a change. The people there are just like use they have not done anything wrong. I thought about this, and I put myself in their shoes and that would not feel good at all. They should not have to go through all of this and they are just like me and you, we do stuff wrong every day but we don’t get punished for it it’s because everyone does wrong things. Jacob is just like me and you he wakes up in the morning and looks into the sun, but it’s different he wakes up hoping he is where he fell asleep at and if he will wake up and see Kony and is running for his life. It makes me feel like I should do something and help. I mean he said that he saw his brother die, if I say my brother die I would go crazy. They have to life through so many sons it’s going to be too much. There are kids from the age of 4 to 16 years old going through this right know and right when you are reading. This I didn’t know about this in till I watched this video, so if I have time its only 30 minutes just sit down and watch this. Thank you

    Reply

  60. Anonymous Says:

    I can’t believe stuff like this goes on all the time. If a small fraction of this happened in a place like america, there would be tons of law enforcement officers and politicians working on it. Like the video says where you live shouldn’t determine if you live. It’s a good thing that the U.S. is stepping in and taking action to try and stop what Kony is doing with all the technology and military tactics that the U.S. has they should be able to find him. It is wrong what Kony does and people like him should be held accountable for there actions.

    Reply

  61. Cole T. Says:

    After watching this video, it makes you think; just because you don’t know about something or even care to listen, or even in a foreign country that doesn’t even involve the U.S. that doeasn’t mean it isn’t bad or a terrible thing. In this video it stated that 99% of the world doesn’t even know who Joseph Kony is or even care. That’s alot of people! He kidnapps young children, under aged children! Then he puts them as soldiers and slaves. The kids that become soldiers, he makes them kill their own parents; or else he kills them. It is a good thing that U.S. stepped in to help apprehend this man. Technically, the U.S. isn’t fighting, they are training the army for that country so they can take him down. Although our officers are training that army, if they make no proggress those forces will be pulled out and then they will abandon that mission.

    Reply

  62. Maegan V. Says:

    This video is very sad, it made me cry. I do not think that it is fair that these kids have to live in fear. Kony is a very bad man and he doesn’t have any reason top do this he just does it to show how powerful he is. I really like the guy who is trying to stop him I think that he is a very good man. Jacob is helping his country alot.

    Reply

  63. Ryan H. Says:

    Sense I’ve seen this I’ve gotten to learn some more about the topic but i’ll keep my response based on the video.
    I think it’s kind of dumb how the US government didn’t want to help to catch the most wanted person on Earth. I did see that the government did eventually start helping but it’s not really enough right now. If I get the chance i would buy one of those kits and even right now i’ve sent the link to the video to at least four people. I’ve heard about this once before now because someone who goes to my church is a big sponsor of this. he said that Kony was kind of a self announced Messiah. I think it’s weird how this is so little known about.

    Reply

  64. Brendan L Says:

    I cant believe i have never heard of these kids.Kony should be stopped. I feel like i need to get the kit.I am glad that the USA has troops to help track him down.I hope he doesn’t find a way to join with Alqueda if so his army will be kids and terrorist.

    Reply

  65. Hayley S. Says:

    What i personally can do to help is, go on facebook and put kony 2012 as my cover photo or profile picture, it helps with twitter to, because you can get people to start talking about it. Technology is used for positive ways because if you see something on the internet, your gonna go tell your friends and your friends will tell there friends, and so on. I think that’s how Kony started in the first place. Everyone started talking about it and realizing how bad it was and they wanted to make a change like I do. That is what is so great about the internet because you can get stuff going and help stop bad situations. But I heard Kony got arrested the last I heard. So that’s amazing news.

    Reply

  66. Mattheos M. Says:

    I thought that this was a big problem. No kid should go to sleep and be worried about being ubducted. Joseph Kony steals kids from their families and makes them kill their parents. Mutilate there friends faces. He turns the Boys into child soldiers. He makes the little girls into Sex Slaves. This is not right. If this happened to anyone in the
    United States it would be all over the news! Like I said, not right and Joseph Kony should pay the price for what he has done.

    Reply

  67. Isami M. Says:

    There is a lot I can say about this. When we watched the video in class, I almost cried it was so sad. I would like to do whatever I can to help this cause, because it is very important. I don’t know how that Kony guy can go to sleep every night knowing what he’s done to these children. It’s sick, cruel and inhumane. They have to kill their own families, I could NEVER do that. I am very surprised/proud of how much the entire world is trying to help and get this guy noticed. I really hope they find him and he gets arrested, I actually kind of hope he gets the death penalty. I mean, it’s what he deserves after what he’s done to these children. When the boy in the video was talking about losing his brother, it was SO sad. The fact that he’s still here now trying to help the children that went through the same thing he did is inspiring. He could be just lazing around not doing anything since he’s already free from danger, but he’s not. He’s trying to save all these kids which is really cool. Jason Russell the guy that was speaking in the video and pretty much created it, on the other hand, got arrested the other day. I don’t even want to say why he got arrested. All I can say is that:
    1. Nobody will EVER take him seriously again.
    2. He can’t really be the face of the Invisible Children cause anymore.
    3. He gained all of these people who followed him in a 30 minute video, and lost all of them in a 30 second video (that explains why he was arrested).
    4. His career is basically, entirely, completely over.

    Reply

  68. Will K Says:

    I feel bad for the people in Africa. I have learned a lot from the video. About Africa and how the people live there. The U.S. need to catch kony because he is wanted. I like that the U.S. is trying to help catch kony.

    Reply

  69. Kelsi J. Says:

    The subject about Kony 2012 is extremely sad! All those kids that get abducted are helpless, and can’t do anything but try to run! People like Jacob who are scared to live in their own homes should not have to worry about this every night and every day! Everyone needs to tell anyone they know about this and help all those kids by sending a few dollars a month and you can then get posters and two bracelets that have a code, one bracelet is for you and the other is for a friend. Go online to their website and enter the code. If all the kids in every school know about this we can stop Kony from hurting and abusing those poor little kids!

    Reply

  70. Connor H Says:

    I think that the guy is do a very good job. He is making a lot of money so the US can go out and find Kony. I can not think it the the Government is just start to look Kony. He is the number one wanted person in the world. I hope the US soldiers can find Kony.

    Reply

  71. Katie M. Says:

    I thought that this was really sad how Kony is kidnapping kids our age and forcing them to do these things. This is really sad. In my opinion he should be stopped. What I don’t understand is why the US government won’t send troops to help. I think that is just not cool. If Kony keeps on kidnapping kids than it will sorta be the US fault for not helping the Uganda army for not helping hunt him down.

    Reply

  72. Tyler.B Says:

    I can’t believe that anyone would do such a evil thing I mean it’s like training chihuahuas to be attack dogs. I mean their children and Kony is throwing them into the fire. I dare you to name one person eviler than Kony, you can’t because everybody, even the FBI says he is the evilest person ever. Also guess what, our government doesn’t care even thought Kony(said with disgust) is abducting children, how long before Kony decides to move to the U.S. then they will worry. I say that if one continent is in pain then they should do something about it.

    Reply

  73. Matthew S. Says:

    This is very sad. People have been being killed for 20 years, and nobody stopped and revealed his crimes. Joseph Kony must be put to justice. This matters more than anything else now. It is time to stop him for good.

    Reply

  74. Jonavon L. Says:

    This video is really sad.I don’t understand how he can just take kids and make them shoot their parents.This is really horrible just to think of being in those kids shoes. Being abducted by Kony. That is why this video was made to change the life of those kids. We can do some things to stop this,and that is to make Kony famous. To do that you can make posters and put them around the school.

    MAKE KONY FAMOUS……

    Reply

  75. Garrett H Says:

    I found this video to be a very good thing, but it needs to be spread more than it is at this time. Still probably about half or more of our population still has no idea who Kony really is. I still think this is a very good video and everyone should watch it to learn more about who Kony is, what he has done, and what he is going to. I forgot the name of the person who made this video but all I can say is thank you for letting people know who this man is!

    Reply

  76. Mikayla Says:

    I really do admire the fact that their trying to help over there, but it seems so unlikely that they’ll find Kony. i saw another video where this girl whose parents are from Uganda, when she mentioned it to them they laughed and said he was dead. i know that it’s not good to go by rumors but it’s just a speculation. i do think that it’s great that their helping and it’s obviously for a good cost, but i do still have doubts.

    Reply

    • Emily R. :) Says:

      Yeah, Mscomputerteacher said that the rumor wasn’t true. I hope they stop this guy before it’s to late! I want one of those bracelets. You see posters for celebrations but this NEEDS the posters!

      Reply

  77. Rachel L. Says:

    Technology is used with positive change by spreading word about disasters, and crimes across the world. It gets people far away help situations like this. Another example of technology being used to spread the word is Japan’s tsunami. People everywhere posted about it and donated money to help them build Japan back up. In this situation I really can’t do much but spread the knowledge and donate. Of course, I can’t donate because I don’t have any money but the thought is still the same.

    Reply

  78. Lani F. Says:

    The video was very meaningful. I think it is good that this man made the video cause it is letting people know about he bad man kony. Up until i saw this video i had no idea aboutt his kony guy. i now understand the issue and i want to end this war. and it is very true that we were all born in to a complicated world. i think this man that kept his promise to jakob as very strong. and its people like him who makes a difference in this complicated world.

    Reply

  79. Sage W. Says:

    Oh my gosh! I think this is extremely sad. Why would someone do these things to these poor little children. In this video, technology is used for a positive change. We can use computers for this to spread the word about this. We can use computer by maybe emailing the video to people. We could also use other technological resources like phones to spread the word too.

    Reply

  80. Victor C. Says:

    Well, I think this is worth joining. Especially the part about going out on April 20th and vandalizing the whole city with STOP KONY 2012 posters! I also want to join because I feel sorry for those kids in Africa that have to kill their own parents. If that was me, I’d turn around and blast THEM, not my parents. But I guess the stress might overcome me… but oh well. Kony should be stopped!!! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! STOP KONY! Free the Africans! Free the Africans! Free the Africans! Free the Africans! Free the Africans! Free the Africans! Free the Africans! Free the Africans! Free the Africans! Free the Africans! Free the Africans!

    Reply

  81. Chandler B. :) Says:

    WOW! This is truly amazing that people have escaped what this man has put them through. I felt that it really hit home when I saw how much pain all of these little kids are going through. We must stop Kony. Picture that this is you or your kids getting abducted and being forced to kill thousands of innocent people that are also suffering the loss of their children. Make Kony famous and stop him! Together we can end this!

    Reply

  82. Anonymous Says:

    this video was very interesting and to anyone that watches this, i think that they can help.

    Reply

  83. Tyler.b Says:

    I can’t believe that anyone would do such a evil thing I mean it’s like training chihuahuas to be attack dogs

    Reply

  84. EmilyR. Says:

    I don’t know what to say. This is amazing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

