Using the Web to Save Grandma

March 7, 2012

Motivational

Noah Lamaide seems a typical 12 year old boy. He plays on the computer, skateboards, and loves his family. What may not be so obvious about Noah is that he is a hero. Noah saved his grandmother from losing her home.

Last year, Noah’s grandmother was told her house had been foreclosed on. Foreclosure means that the bank who loaned the money to buy the house is now taking the house back due to a person’s failure to pay the monthly mortgage payments. Not only would Noah’s grandmother be losing her home, but also the many foster children she takes into her home would also no longer have a place to live. Although, Noah’s grandmother tried to hide the foreclosure from Noah, Noah overheard a conversation and found out that his grandmother was losing her home.

What could he do? Noah certainly didn’t have the $10,000 needed to pay the bank so that his grandmother didn’t lose her home. All Noah really had was access to a laptop and an internet connection, so Noah started a website specifically for raising money. Noah created his donation website using Blackbaud Now (www.bbnow.com), which combines the power of quick and easy template-based website building with the power of PayPal, an online payment processing program. Noah named his website “Noah’s Dream Catcher Network” (http://dreamcatcher.bbnow.org/), and over time he raised the $10,000 needed to save his grandmother’s home!

Since raising the money to prevent foreclosure on his grandmother’s house, Noah has continued his Dream Catcher Network as a way to continue to help others. Take a look at his website to see how he is using the power of the internet and his technology skills to make a difference in peoples’ lives.

What do you think of Noah’s work? Is it hard to believe he’s making such an impact on the world to be only 12 years old? Are you surprised people generously donated to his cause so that his grandmother could keep her house? Would you consider building a donation website such as Noah’s? If so, what would your site support and how would you let people know about it?

For more about Noah and his Dream Catcher Network, click here.

, , , , , , , , ,

Connect with MCT

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

78 Comments on “Using the Web to Save Grandma”

  1. Paige N. Says:

    I think that the surface is a great new thing that Microsoft is coming up with but on the other hand lots of people might say that they want to stay with the ipad because it was the original tablet and people all over the place are in love with it.I do not have a ipad but i do enjoy apple products such as the ipod touch.I also enjoy apple products because they are said to not get any viruses witch is great,and you could deffenitly get them on the surface made by Microsoft. I am excited for this product to come out and i want to give it a try before i really make up my mind.

    Reply

  2. Blake B Says:

    I think what Noah did was inspirational to many out there. He shows that even if you are young you can have amazing and life saving ideas. SHOUT OUT TO MY BOY NOAH!!

    Reply

  3. Andrew M Says:

    I am shocked that people would donate. I wouldn’t donate donate because to many people are just scamming you so i never trust anyone one the internet. I am also shocked because not many people can find websites like the ones he had. I am not shocked that he did it though because it isn’t impossible, more lucky.

    Reply

  4. luke b Says:

    i think this kid did a really great thing. he helped his grandma. he wanted to make 10 thousand dollars and he reached his goal. and the people who donated were cool.

    Reply

  5. Christian Quick Says:

    I think that this article is very inspirational. Think that a 12 year old boy raised 10,000 dollars for his grandma, because her house was in foreclosure. He made a site were people could donate money to this cause. I think that doing this shows the world that anyone could make a difference no matter how old or big you are. I would want to make a site that people could donate too, and I think it is good thing. I hope to make a difference like he did one day.

    Reply

  6. Garrett F. Says:

    I think that this is a very inspiring story. The thought that a 12 year old boy could save his grandmother’s home is amazing to me. I am very glad that we have giving people out there who would help donate to him. I hope to do something like Noah did one day.

    Reply

  7. Emma W. Says:

    I think it was really cool what Noah did for his Grandmother, she’s lucky to have a Grandson who would do that for her. I think its awesome that he cared enough about the situation to actually get up and do something about it, but still continue to help the world and go out of his way to get other people to participate in helping the world even after he has gotten what he needed. If I were going to make a website like his, it’d be to support kids with cancer and I’d let people know about it by telling hospitals, and other people to spread the word.

    Reply

    • Amr Says:

      can anyone anwesr this for me? can you be running an application (such as clock) and hit the end call butten to lock the phone and unlock it and still have the clock app open? or does the end call butten act like the back butten until it is just the home screen and then will lock it? thanks if anyone can anwesr by replyin

      Reply

  8. luke b Says:

    I think this is a really cool story.i like how he made the money for his grandmaw.

    Reply

  9. Chance G. Says:

    I think that this was very cool for this kid to do so much to help his Grandmother and also many other people that Noah is able to help with this website. This kid proved that anybody can do anything if they set their mind to it! He is 12 years old and has already done more and left more of an impact than most adults do in their whole lives. He raised $10,000 to help save the foster kids in he Grandma’s home and also his Grandma. This significant event is one of the reasons why adults push us so hard. Because they want us to not only succeed at our own lives but also to reach out and help others that need help as well. I’m very glad that Noah did this because now as us being kids maybe adults will stop looking down on us and instead start treating us as adults and making us work hard because we are the future of the US.

    Reply

  10. Logan S. Says:

    Noah seems like a very considerate boy. He probably loves his grandmother very much.That is also a very ingenious way to raise money. He raised a lot of money for his Grandma. He must think a lot about other people if he did this!

    Reply

  11. Melissa B(: Says:

    The fact that a 12 year old did this is amazing! I know I would have never thought of a website to help raise that kind of money. What Noah did was make a big impact on someones life, and help those children stay in a good home. Also, I think it was very nice and thoughtful that people would even go out of their way to help someone that was probably a complete stranger to them. Other people should look at Noah as an example of how to change the world and how to make a difference.

    Reply

  12. Carli R. Says:

    I think that it’s really cool that Noah helped his grandma that much and I think that it’s amazing that people were that generous. I also think that it’s remarkable that at 12 years old and a laptop computer that he can raise 10,000 dollars. It’s awesome that with just 10,000 dollars that he can save his grandma and all the kids that she fosters. I would consider making a website like what he built, but the cause would have to be really important to me just like saving his grandma’s house was really important to Noah.

    Reply

  13. Cody H Says:

    I think that the thing Noah did was very unselfish and kind. He gave me an idea that I should start my own website to get money for my needs and others. It is a very good way to help others. Noah even made a website for his grandmother and all those people. I can’t believe that one website can raise over 10,000 dollars to help pay for the mortgage.

    Reply

  14. Lotus S.P. Says:

    I think it is amazing that a twelve year old boy could do this. I didn’t think he could do this legally. When you get your house foreclosed, you just feel helpless. I wouldn’t know what to do.

    Reply

  15. Campbell S. :) Says:

    This is so sweet! Noah didn’t only show love for his grandma, but the children who she fostered also. The fact that a little kid of his age could do this is amazing. The only question i have is how did he get people to visit the website? In other words, how did he advertise? I think that if I ever tried to do this, I would not be as successful as Noah was. He showed a lot of courage and he beat everyone’s expectations. I bet his grandma didn’t think that he could do it. No offense(:

    Reply

  16. Rebecca L Says:

    i feel this is a very moving story. i love how he crated the website so his grandmother could keep her home and help others who need the help. this was a sweet thing to do. if i was ever loosing my house i would want someone to do that for me. this kid seems like a very sweet boy.

    Reply

  17. David C. Says:

    I think that what he did was a good thing. He is a very unselfish person who loves his family. It is also good that he is still using the site to help others. I wounder if we could do any thing like that to raise money for someone.

    Reply

  18. Alexis O. Says:

    I think Noah is really brave to do what he did. Anyone could start something like this. you can be anyone one he internet. No one would care if you were just a kid. You would have a chance of being heard. I would probably be able to make a donation website. I would make mine for SEA TURTLES!! ❤ 🙂

    Reply

  19. Hunter C. Says:

    I think that what Noah is doing is really nice to help people in there time of need to go out of his way to help people that he does not know. Also i think that it is nice of him to donate his time to helping those who need it and i think that he should be rewarded. Also if I were to have a website like this I would do it for the family’s of people who have family in the military and to help them get threw it by setting up charities and events for the family to go to and enjoy themselves.That is what i think of Noah’s website and him as a person.

    Reply

  20. Hunter Mac Says:

    I think that noah is a great kid for what he has done. he did not only do it for family, but he did it for anyone else who needed it. this shows that he is very selfless. this is a great quality to have have and there are not many that would do what he has done.

    Reply

  21. Ben B Says:

    I think that Noah’s work was very brave and determined. He put himself out there to save his grandma and it worked. No I don’t think it is hard to believe he’s making such a big impact because Ben D can do what he did and if people really wanted to do this they could just research and figure out how to do it to help a cause. I am not surprised people donated because he isn’t just losing a house he is losing a home to him and foster children. What I am surprised about is how he got the word out to people that he needed help because I don’t look up Noah’s Dream-catcher on Google regularly.

    Reply

  22. Stephen W. Says:

    I love a good story. Especially when someone is helping out others. He helped his grandma using the internet which is amazing. He should thank whoever taught him to make a fundraiser. I think this act of commitment should be recognized by the public!

    Reply

  23. Johnny Foraker Says:

    This is a great story, his heart and mind was in the right place and tried to help out his poor grandmother and that is priceless. Now that I know about Noah’s dream catcher, I would be really willing if the need ever occurred, to make a website and help out my friends and family. I obviously don’t have a lot of money for advertising, but my cousins are like computer guys, and I bet that they could help me out, if i was having trouble they would help me. This story is very inspirational and I can’t believe that he raised enough money!

    Reply

  24. Emily R. :3 Says:

    When I looked at the site I was surprised how recently this happened!

    Reply

  25. Senithb Says:

    I think it this is a really interesting story. I would have never thought a boy my age could make such a huge impact. I think it must have taken Noah a great deal of time to make the website and obtain all the money. I have never seen a 12 yr old so committed into helping his family like that. it’s also not only his family he helped but all the foster children. Those kids hadn’t had a family and this is the closest to a family they have and to stripped by that its… heartbreaking. Noah gave them a chance to be with their foster friends and his grandma, who seem to be nice to the children. His family must have been proud of him… I’m not even his family and I am. He did something amazing by just making a website. Good job Noah. I also have an idea, my school could use this website to have donating for organizations. I think it would be fun.

    Reply

  26. Matthew J. Says:

    I think that Noah did the right thing to save his grandmothers house and lot of kids. If we had a kid like him working on other problems like hunger or something, the world would be a better place. I find it amazing that he was able to raise all of this money. He did what I would’ve considered nearly impossible. He turned a hopeless situation into an amazing miracle. I find this guy amazing.

    Reply

  27. Patrick U. Says:

    I think that this kid’s story is amazing. Taking responsibility of his grandmother’s mortgage… that’s over-the-top. I am stunned that a twelve-year-old boy would take so much interest in saving his grandmother’s home. Although, I am not surprised people helped this kid out because anyone that was this motivated into making a website to collect donations for his grandmother should be helped. Now that I have learned about building a donation website, if I ever need to get donations, I know where to start! I don’t know what the site would support, but if I made a site, I would let people know about it on like Facebook and I would tell all my friends and family.

    Reply

  28. David R. Says:

    Yeah, it’s cool. Instead of keeping people’s homes, I would make it for supplying houses with solar panels. Helping the poor, and the environment. I have one question though, I thought it was illegal to take people’s money and not give them a product in return if you were under sixteen. How did that work? Was the law destroyed or something?

    Reply

    • David R. Says:

      I think that the whole “age limit” thing only applies to collecting money for yourself. Maybe. I’m not exactly sure.

      Reply

  29. Emily R. :3 Says:

    Well honestly my family doesn’t need any help with anything so I think that I wouldn’t be raising money for this cause. I think that this is a good idea to do however so I might just want to start a site such as his. I don’t know exactly what I would raise the money for but I do know that this sounds like a good idea. I’m not at all surprised about people donating. Somebody has to. I know that I would. 🙂

    Reply

  30. Cassie M Says:

    i think its really cool and inspiring that Noah would do that! I would have never thought to do something like that to help my grandma out…i probably would have no idea what to do before i read this article. I think its cool that he made this donation thing, and continued it after he helped raise money for his grandma, because there are lots of people all around that world right now who are going through financial problems, that need help also.

    Reply

  31. Sabrina K. Says:

    WOW! That was really something. Maybe we can do something like Noah did for charity or another place that really needs help. I always thought of ways to help but I never thought of using the internet but then again, everyone uses that…. Noah did something that was really cool, maybe Voyager could do something like that or even the Service Club….

    Reply

  32. Mandy Y. Says:

    This is so cool! And a really great story! Its sad that his grandma couldn’t pay the bills, but he did a great thing! He inspired me to try and see how I can make a site like that for the A.S.P.C.A. and see what I can do to help the animals. I know its a small thing, but I hope it will help. Noah did a great thing for his Grandmother, and I know that I would have not thought of that, I probably would have done a car wash, or a dog watching service, or even babysitting! He is one very smart boy.

    Reply

  33. Sam J Says:

    I actually very surprised. I think it is amazing that one website saved his grandmothers house from being foreclosed. I had no idea that one website would instantly get this much publicity. I also think it is amazing that people actually donated money. What is DeamCatcher?

    Reply

  34. macey Says:

    Im surprised that people would donate money to a cause throught the internet. I dont event pay attention to the fundraising websites because you can never be sure that there not scamming you into something. I am surprised that people cared enough about his grandmother that they donated 10,000$! He must have been very persuasive with the way he worded things on his website to make so many people trust him enough to donate to such a good cause. This is a really good idea and i hope other kids will be inspired to make a website such as this and raise money for their own good causes.

    Reply

  35. Julia C Says:

    I think that it is really amazing that a 12 year old boy did this. You would think that he would be older. Also, he didn’t just save his grandmother’s life, but he also saved the foster kids lives as well. I wonder how he raised all of that money in time.

    Reply

    • Emily R. :3 Says:

      Well it probably took some time. His grandmother and the kids DO get a while before they have to leave so…

      Reply

  36. Kaitlyn A. Says:

    This is amazing! Someone who is only 12 had made a difference in the world. Thats seriously cool and I hope Noah was well-rewarded for it! Saving not only his grandmother’e house, but also the lives of the children that lived there? This is a heart-warming story, and something that really shows people that they have a good side. Yes, sometimes it seems impossible for someone to make a difference in this big world, but Noah proved otherwise. Can you imagine your twelve year old grandson saving something special to you? A twelve year old boy saving a home almost on his own? Not something you read every single day 🙂

    Reply

  37. Abi C. Says:

    this is so sweet. if this was happening to my grandma i would do the same thing. this kid is indeed a hero and a courageous person. he has surly shown that no matter how old you are, you can help.

    Reply

  38. Sam W. Says:

    I think this Noah kid has done a lot. He saved his grandmas house and all the foster kids that his grandma takes care of. i think i would make a website to help people in Durham. I think it would be hard, but i think it would pay off in the long run. I think Noah has done a really great think. He also impacted the world by showing that no matter how small you are or how old you are you can make a big difference.

    Reply

  39. adam s Says:

    He is very sweet. That was very nice of him. He put a lot of work into that. He saved his grandma.

    Reply

  40. maegan v Says:

    I think that this is a really cool article. If this happened to anyone in my family i would do the same thing. This little boy really loves his grandma. If i were this little boy i would do the same thing.

    Reply

  41. Alex M Says:

    I think that it is a very good idea and it is a good thing that Noah is doing for his grandmother. It is a smart idea and I’m sure that his grandmother really appreciates the money she got from it. It is nice that he is still continuing the website.

    Reply

  42. Lani F. Says:

    i think that it is very smart of the boy to do what he did for his grandmother. Noah grandmother should be very thankful. this is because her grandson helped her not lose her home. But it really was a smart idea to make a website like he did. i like this artical cause it tell about a true story and thats good cause he was very nice to his grandmother.

    Reply

  43. Cole T. Says:

    This article was interesting how a child at a young age could do such a thing, he must have had a really nice computer teacher who knew alot. His grandmother almost lost her house for $10,000, that’s alot of money to come up with for just a twelve year old in that amount of time. The donors in this article have a heart fro someone in need therefore that grandmother should be very thankful. Alot of good things can come out of things you learn such as building a website like i did!

    Reply

  44. Anonymous Says:

    This is actually kind of interesting and cool. I think this kid sounds like he was actually willing to try and help his grandmother. I have never seen a kid even try anything this amazing. This kid needs to be known and talked to!

    Reply

  45. Hayley S Says:

    I think this was so cool what he did! Im not really surprised though that people donated so fast though, because they saw he really needed money to help out his grandma so she could have a home. I really don’t know any other boy that would do this. He is a really smart little boy.

    Reply

  46. Kelsi Johnson Says:

    I think it was so sweet and thoughtful that he did that to help out his grandmother. It’s amazing how he got all the money. I wonder how so many people found out about it? It’s a very good thing to do, and a very good way to start your life.

    Reply

  47. Cristina T. Says:

    Aw! That’s sweet he’d do that for his grandma! That shows that normal kids can do big things. Also by it making the news that’s going to give him much more supporters. I’m glad that there’s positive news out there.

    Reply

  48. R. Hickerson Says:

    I think it’s cool that a twelve year old did this. I think it’s kinda hard to believe that he’s making this much of a difference but as you see he is making a difference. I think it’s cool that people have donated this much money. If i got the chance i would do that.

    Reply

  49. Mattheos M. Says:

    I thought this was touching. A Twelve year old boy trying to help his grandmother out. Noah, created a website just for the purpose to get money for his grandmother so she would not lose her home. He raised 10,000$ the bank did not for close her home. He did something incredible and i hope he is able to do it for others behind on their payments.

    Reply

  50. Matthew S. Says:

    Noah is a very nice guy. He sounds very dependable on the community. His grandmother is also really nice. She takes in homeless kids and gives them chance to start a new life. They are very thoughtful.

    Reply

  51. Sage W. Says:

    Wow! I think that it is amazing how he did this. I think he really must love his grandmother a lot to be helping her raise money for her house. I honestly think that there should be more people in the world that should be just like Noah. I would do a site like this if something really bad happened to one of my friends or my family members. If I were to make a site it would probably be on someone who needed money for a sickness like maybe cancer.I would do that because I think that they should find a cure to some cancers and raising money could help a lot.

    Reply

  52. tyler.B Says:

    I can’t believe he did all that for his grandmother he must really love her. Another thing I can’t believe is that so many people donated to his website. One thing I want to know is what did he support after his grandmother. The final thing I want to know why did he use dream catcher in his title.

    Reply

  53. Will K. Says:

    I think its great he raised money to help save his grandma. The website seems cool. Also its a nice way to use technology to help somebody. The website was a good idea.

    Reply

  54. Isami Says:

    I think this kid is very inspirational. I think he gives people hope in the most desperate if times. It is also very touching how much he cared for his grandmother to do this. Most kids probably would feel helpless in this situation. “I’m only 12,” they would probably think. Well, that didn’t stop him! It probably wasn’t easy raising $10,000 either. People like him help me regain faith in humanity

    Reply

  55. Chandler B. :) Says:

    Wow! This kid is truly the definition of the word hero! To be able to save a family members house from forcolsure is amazing. If this kid started a campaign to end forclosure, I would most definitively join it! 🙂

    Reply

  56. Katie M. :D Says:

    This story was really touching. I mean who knew what 12 year old can do to help there family and friends. I am truly inspired by Noah’s story. This has inspired me to see what I can do to help my family and friends.

    Reply

  57. Anonymous Says:

    this is very inspiring to actually make a wed-site to help people that are really in need like Noah’s grandmother.

    Reply

  58. Victor C Says:

    I thought this was really cool! I wonder if other people could do this for charity? We could use this for people who are too lazy to get off the couch and donate. I also thought about how he could have made that. He was smart to think of making a website!

    Reply

  59. Chris C. Says:

    I think that Noah’s story is very inspirational. This shows that it doesn’t matter how old you are, you can still make a positive difference in the world. Hopefully I can make a positive difference in the world like Noah did.

    Reply

  60. michael j. Says:

    This artical was very inspirational for kids to help their families. The artical talked about this kid named Noah saving his grandmothers house from being foreclosed. He started a website/ fun raiser to help raise money for his grandma. He ended up raising enough money to save her house.

    Reply

  61. coley r Says:

    i think Noah did good with helping his grandma. i think hes idea was very helpful to his grandma. it was a great idea for a 12 year old to come up with and use to help someone. i think noah’s idea will help other people who need money help in g the future.

    Reply

  62. Kyndal P. Says:

    This was a great video. Noah is doing a lot for his age. I think that he did a great job helping his Grandma and without him she would have lost her home. His Grandmother is a great women. She is helping so many children and I believe that if she didn’t have her home she would not be able to help all the kids she has.

    Reply

  63. Mackenzie A. Says:

    I think that it must have taken Noah, a good bit of time to build a safe an efficient donation site. Also, i am a bit surprised that he got that much money from people on the web. If he got 10,000 dollars, and the amount is continuing to grow, then he had to have been pretty persuasive with what he said on his website, so that others would trust that the money is going to a good cause. If i were to make a website to help, i would make a cystic fibrosis website. The reason i would do t for this specific illness, is because i know that is hard to go through and it sticks with you for almost your whole life. There is this girl in fifth grade that i know, and she has cystic fibrosis. Almost every two or three weeks, she is back in the hospital. I feel really sorry for her because she practically lives in the hospital and she never gets to spend time with her friends at school. Not only is it hard on her, but on the whole family. She has four other siblings one older, and the rest younger. They don’t get as much time with there sister, and there parents because they are always having to go to a friends house since they cant stay at the hospital. I wouldn’t just be helping her though, i would also help all other people with this illness. So we can find a cure, and they can get on track to a normal life. It’s not that hard for me to think that a twelve year old made a difference because it happens everyday.

    Reply

  64. Alex Says:

    I think what Noah did was great. I don’t think its so hard that a kid that age is making such a big impact. I’m am surprised that that many people donated that much money. Its good that people did that. If i was in money trouble I wouldn’t mind making a website to help.

    Reply

  65. Anonymous Says:

    i think this very cool. i think Noah is the biggest hero to his grandma. my grandma would love me evenmore

    Reply

  66. Luke B Says:

    I feel really inspired from his work. Noah has done something that a lot of 12 years olds would never think of doing. I am suprised that a lot of people donated, because there is a lot of nice people in this world and they realize the situation Noah and his grandmother are in. I dont think I would make a website for this purpose, but maybe when I get older I will.

    Reply

  67. Jordan H. Says:

    i think i is very suprising that a 12 year old boy could do that. most kids our age just so things for there own entertainment and when they get money they keep it to themselves. i am both suprised and unsurprised that people donated money to his grandmother. i am surprised because not many people donate money anymore, they keep there own money to pay there own bills and such. also i am not too suprised because she had foster children which is a really good thing to do. if i were to start something like this it would be for suicide prevention. there are to many people that are suicidal and it needs to stop. i have a friend who cuts himself and has thought about committing suicide many times. i want to help people like him. it is inspirational that Noah was able to do this and even thought about it. people like him are the kind of people who should be famous and loved by everyone, not actors and singers and people like that.

    Reply

  68. Shiane T. Says:

    I think that is amazing, that someone my age could do something to help out his Grandma and many other foster children. I would certainly do some like he did for people who have cancer, like my Granny who is under going chemo right now. It is getting hard for people to pay their bills, because of this rough economy. I would also do it for family’s who have recently lost someone, because a funeral and burial can be a bit pricey. I think he will grow up be a good humanitarian, and care about people’s issues, and find a way to help them out.

    Reply

  69. Ian O. Says:

    That is nice and cool. I could do that but i would do it with origami. that is one lucky grandma. i don’t like foreclosure

    Reply

  70. Matt S. Says:

    I think this is a really cool thing that this guy did. He did all he could to help his grandma keep her house. And it is quite amazing how generous the people who read his read his website gave money. I think this is amazing and I think for a twelve year old that is quite awesome.

    Reply

  71. Cole L. Says:

    I think that if one of my family members where in trouble i would make a site to help them and then expand the site to help others if i could.

    Reply

  72. Emma O. Says:

    I think that this is really great that Noah did this for his grandmother. It shows that he really cares about her and he wanted to help her. If I had a website, I would create origami and sell it and them I would donate the money to help find a cure for cancer. I would let people know about it by making flyers and handing them out to people.

    Reply

  73. dominick Says:

    i think noahs story is very good an insperational it is very good for his age that he is doing this stufff for other people an that he wants to make a diffrence in the world.

    Reply

  74. Eric K Says:

    I think this is a really sad story. I think he did the right thing, and even if he didn’t make all the money, he still tried to make money and thats what counts. I’m glad they got the money and that she is helping other kids to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

